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Iowa Code § 96.7(2)a(6) – Appeal from the Statement of Charges 
 
STATEMENT OF THE CASE: 
 
The employer filed an appeal from the statement of charges mailed to them on July 30, 2018 for 
the second quarter of 2018.  The parties were properly notified about the hearing.  A telephone 
hearing was scheduled to be held on August 27, 2018.  A review of the agency records, and the 
documents submitted by the employer made clear that no additional testimony was necessary 
and no hearing was held.  Official notice was taken of agency records.   
 
ISSUE: 
 
Did the employer file a timely appeal to their statement of charges for the second quarter of 
2018?   
 
FINDINGS OF FACT: 
 
Having reviewed all of the evidence in the record, the administrative law judge finds:  The 
claimant filed a claim for benefits with an effective date of May 27, 2012.  The school district 
filed a timely protest to his claim in 2012 and a fact-finder’s decision was issued on June 29, 
2012 finding the claimant ineligible for benefits from the employer school district.  The fact-
finder’s decision was never appealed by the claimant.  Claimant had an overpayment due to the 
agency in the original amount of $392.00.   
 
On April 12, 2018 the claimant made a $100.00 dollar payment to the agency to pay off part of 
his balance.  That payment was made in the second quarter of 2018.  For some unknown 
reason the agency overpayment system read the payment made by the claimant as a bill that 
was due by the employer.  The employer was then erroneously sent a charge on their 
reimbursable statement of charges for second quarter of 2018.  The employer does not owe the 
agency $100.00 dollars in reimbursable charges for the second quarter of 2018 as they never 
should have been billed as they have no liability for benefits with respect to this claimant.   
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REASONING AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 
 
Iowa Code section 96.6(2) provides, in pertinent part:   
 

2.  Initial determination.  A representative designated by the director shall promptly notify 
all interested parties to the claim of its filing, and the parties have ten days from the date 
of mailing the notice of the filing of the claim by ordinary mail to the last known address 
to protest payment of benefits to the claimant. 

 
Iowa Code section 96.7(2)a(6) provides:   
 

2.  Contribution rates based on benefit experience.  
 
a.  (6)  Within forty days after the close of each calendar quarter, the department shall 
notify each employer of the amount of benefits charged to the employer's account during 
that quarter.  The notification shall show the name of each individual to whom benefits 
were paid, the individual's social security number, and the amount of benefits paid to the 
individual.  An employer which has not been notified as provided in section 96.6, 
subsection 2, of the allowance of benefits to an individual, may within thirty days after 
the date of mailing of the notification appeal to the department for a hearing to determine 
the eligibility of the individual to receive benefits.  The appeal shall be referred to an 
administrative law judge for hearing and the employer and the individual shall receive 
notice of the time and place of the hearing.  

 
The administrative law judge concludes that the employer filed its appeal of the Statement of 
Charges within the time period prescribed by the Iowa Employment Security Law.  The 
employer had already filed a protest and received a fact-finding decision in their favor.  That 
decision has become final.  The reimbursable statement of charges was erroneously sent to the 
employer after the claimant made a payment on his overpayment balance.  The employer is not 
obligated to pay the agency $100.00 for their second quarter statement of charges.   
 
DECISION: 
 
The July 30, 2018, Statement of Charges for the second quarter of 2018 is reversed.  The 
employer has no obligation to pay the agency the $100.00 as they were erroneously billed.   
 
 
 
 
__________________________________ 
Teresa K. Hillary 
Administrative Law Judge 
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