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Iowa Code § 96.4(3) – Ability to and Availability for Work 
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STATEMENT OF THE CASE: 
 
On June 8, 2020, SLB of Iowa, LC (employer) filed an appeal from the June 2, 2020, reference 
01, unemployment insurance decision that allowed benefits effective April 5, 2020, because the 
agency determined Berten Joi L. Lisenbee (claimant) was not employed in the same hours and 
wages contemplated in the contract of hire.  After due notice was issued, a telephone hearing 
was held on July 16, 2020.  The claimant participated personally.  The employer participated 
through Karen Beard, Human Resources Manager.  No exhibits were offered into the record.  
The administrative law judge took official notice of the claimant’s claim and wage histories   
 
ISSUES: 
 
Is the claimant totally, partially, or temporarily unemployed? 
Was the claimant able to and available for work effective April 5, 2020? 
Is the employer’s account subject to charge? 
Has the claimant been overpaid regular unemployment benefits and Federal Pandemic 
Unemployment Compensation (FPUC)? 
 
FINDINGS OF FACT: 
 
Having reviewed all of the evidence in the record, the administrative law judge finds:  The 
claimant began working for the employer on June 20, 2016 and promoted up to her most recent 
position of full-time Certified Bakers Trainer earning $15.50 an hour.  She filed her claim for 
benefits effective April 5, 2020 when the employer reduced her hours as a result of the COVID-
19 pandemic.  The claimant’s weekly benefit amount is $391 and the only wage credits in her 
base period came from the employer.   
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The claimant reported wages for most of the weeks she filed for benefits.  However, she has not 
accurately reported her wages earned.  The following shows the amount the claimant reported 
in wages earned and the wages she actually earned each week: 
 

Week Ending Income Reported Income Earned Benefits 
Received 

Over or Under Paid 
Benefits 

04/11/20 $0 $72.54 $391 Overpaid 

04/18/20 $90 $171.59 $391 Overpaid 

04/25/20 $330 $287.99 $158 Underpaid 

05/02/20 $404 $351.08 $0 Underpaid 

05/09/20 $609 $240.87 $0 Underpaid 

05/16/20 $409 $236.07 $0 Underpaid 

05/23/20 $248 $586.37 $240 Overpaid 

05/30/20 $208 $398.50 $280 Overpaid 

06/06/20 $90 $161.67 $391 Overpaid 

06/13/20 $600 $468.72 $0 Correct benefits paid 

06/20/20 $660 $403.93 + $620 
in vacation pay 

$0 Correct benefits paid 

06/27/20 $292 $215.31 $196 Underpaid 

07/04/20 $480 $434.62 $0 Correct benefits paid 

 
In addition to the $2,131 in regular benefits outlined above, the claimant has also received 
$4,800 in FPUC.  Iowa Workforce Development (IWD) is not charging employers for benefits 
paid in the second quarter of 2020.   
 
REASONING AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 
 

I. Is the claimant totally, partially, or temporarily unemployed?  Was the claimant able to 
and available for work effective April 5, 2020? 

 
For the reasons that follow, the administrative law judge concludes that the claimant was 
partially unemployed during any week in which she earns less than $406 in wages, and partial 
benefits, as well as FPUC, are allowed for those weeks.  As the claimant is either partially 
unemployed or not unemployed under Iowa law, the issue of whether she is able to and 
available for work during the weeks she has filed to date is moot. 
 
Iowa Code section 96.4(3) provides:   

 
An unemployed individual shall be eligible to receive benefits with respect to any 
week only if the department finds that:   
 
3.  The individual is able to work, is available for work, and is earnestly and 
actively seeking work.  This subsection is waived if the individual is deemed 
partially unemployed, while employed at the individual's regular job, as defined in 
section 96.19, subsection 38, paragraph "b", unnumbered paragraph (1), or 
temporarily unemployed as defined in section 96.19, subsection 38, paragraph 
"c".  The work search requirements of this subsection and the disqualification 
requirement for failure to apply for, or to accept suitable work of section 96.5, 
subsection 3 are waived if the individual is not disqualified for benefits under 
section 96.5, subsection 1, paragraph "h".  
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Iowa Code § 96.19(38) provides:   
 

"Total and partial unemployment".  
 
a.  An individual shall be deemed "totally unemployed" in any week with respect 
to which no wages are payable to the individual and during which the individual 
performs no services.  
 
b.  An individual shall be deemed partially unemployed in any week in which 
either of the following apply: 
 
(1)  While employed at the individual's then regular job, the individual works less 
than the regular full-time week and in which the individual earns less than the 
individual's weekly benefit amount plus fifteen dollars.  
 
(2)  The individual, having been separated from the individual’s regular job, earns 
at odd jobs less than the individual’s weekly benefit amount plus fifteen dollars.   
 
c.  An individual shall be deemed temporarily unemployed if for a period, verified 
by the department, not to exceed four consecutive weeks, the individual is 
unemployed due to a plant shutdown, vacation, inventory, lack of work or 
emergency from the individual's regular job or trade in which the individual 
worked full-time and will again work full-time, if the individual's employment, 
although temporarily suspended, has not been terminated.  

 
The claimant was hired into a full-time position.  She has worked each week she has filed for 
benefits.  As a result, in any week she works and earns less than her weekly benefit amount 
plus fifteen dollars, or $406, she is partially unemployed.  Therefore, partial benefits during the 
weeks she is partially unemployed are allowed.   
 
Any week in which the claimant earns more than $406 in wages, she does not meet the 
definitions of total, partial, or temporary unemployment and benefits are denied.  As the claimant 
is partially unemployed or not considered unemployed, the issue of able to and available for 
work for the weeks she has filed to date is moot.   
 

II. Is the employer’s account subject to charge? 
 
For the reasons that follow, the administrative law judge concludes the employer’s account will 
not be charged for any benefits for which the claimant might be entitled from April 5 through 
June 27.   
 
Iowa Code section 96.7(2)a(2)(a), (b), and (c) provides:   

 
Employer contributions and reimbursements. 
 
2.  Contribution rates based on benefit experience.  
 
a.  (2)  The amount of regular benefits plus fifty percent of the amount of 
extended benefits paid to an eligible individual shall be charged against the 
account of the employers in the base period in the inverse chronological order in 
which the employment of the individual occurred.  
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(a)  However, if the individual to whom the benefits are paid is in the employ of a 
base period employer at the time the individual is receiving the benefits, and the 
individual is receiving the same employment from the employer that the individual 
received during the individual's base period, benefits paid to the individual shall 
not be charged against the account of the employer.  This provision applies to 
both contributory and reimbursable employers, notwithstanding subparagraph (3) 
and section 96.8, subsection 5.  
 
(b)  An employer's account shall not be charged with benefits paid to an 
individual who left the work of the employer voluntarily without good cause 
attributable to the employer or to an individual who was discharged for 
misconduct in connection with the individual's employment, or to an individual 
who failed without good cause, either to apply for available, suitable work or to 
accept suitable work with that employer, but shall be charged to the 
unemployment compensation fund. This paragraph applies to both contributory 
and reimbursable employers, notwithstanding section 96.8, subsection 5.  
 
(c)  The amount of benefits paid to an individual, which is solely due to wage 
credits considered to be in an individual's base period due to the exclusion and 
substitution of calendar quarters from the individual's base period under 
section 96.23, shall be charged against the account of the employer responsible 
for paying the workers' compensation benefits for temporary total disability or 
during a healing period under section 85.33, section 85.34, subsection 1, or 
section 85A.17, or responsible for paying indemnity insurance benefits.  

 
Normally, the employer would be charged for the claimant’s benefits.  This employer was the 
only employer in her base period and the employer was not employing the claimant in her usual 
contract of hire.  However, due to the pandemic, the agency is waiving charges to the 
employers account during the second quarter of 2020. 
 

III. Has the claimant been overpaid regular unemployment benefits and FPUC? 
 
As delineated in the findings of fact, the claimant is over and under paid benefits.  The issue of 
how much she has been over and under paid is remanded to Investigations and Recovery or 
the Benefits Bureau for review and correction.   
 
DECISION: 
 
The June 2, 2020, reference 01, unemployment insurance decision is modified in favor of the 
appellant.  The claimant is partially unemployed during any week in which she earns less than 
$406 and benefits are allowed.  IWD has waived all charges to the employer’s account for the 
second quarter of 2020 and the employer’s account will not be charged for the benefits paid 
through June 27, 2020. 
 
REMAND: 
 
As delineated in the findings of fact, the claimant is over and under paid benefits.  The issue of 
how much she has been over and under paid is remanded to Investigations and Recovery or 
the Benefits Bureau for review and correction.   
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__________________________________ 
Stephanie R. Callahan 
Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
August 3, 2020______________________ 
Decision Dated and Mailed 
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