IN THE IOWA ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS DIVISION UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE APPEALS BUREAU

CHAD E MYLON Claimant

APPEAL 25A-UI-01254-CS-T

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE DECISION

ATLAS MASONRY AND CHIMNEY LLC Employer

> OC: 02/02/25 Claimant: Appellant (4)

Iowa Code § 96.3(4) – Determination of Benefits

STATEMENT OF THE CASE:

On February 11, 2025, Chad E. Mylon (claimant) filed an appeal from the February 5, 2025, reference 01, monetary determination. After due notice was issued, a telephone hearing was held on March 4, 2025. The claimant participated. The employer participated through Managing Partner, Dustin Oliverson. Administrative notice was taken of DBRO and WAGE-A. Claimant's Exhibit A was admitted into the record.

ISSUE:

- I. Is the monetary record dated February 5, 2025, correct?
- II. Is the claimant monetarily eligible for benefits effective February 2, 2025?

FINDINGS OF FACT:

Having reviewed all of the evidence in the record, the administrative law judge finds: The base period for the claim year effective February 2, 2025, covers the fourth quarter of 2023, first quarter of 2024, second quarter of 2024 and and the fourth quarter of 2024. The monetary record issued on February 5, 2025 reported wages in the fourth quarter of 2023 as \$12,247.11. The claimant presented evidence of wages in the first through fourth quarters of 2024. (Claimant's Exhibit A).

Since the initial monetary record was issued, wages have been reported in WAGE-A with the employer Atlas Masonry and Chimney (Acct. No. 505602-000). The employer reported the claimant earned \$10,530 in wages for the first quarter of 2024, \$11,502 in wages for the second quarter of 2024, \$10,599 for the third quarter of 2024, and \$6,355 for the fourth quarter of 2024. (WAGE-A). A new monetary record has not been issued reflecting these reported wages.

REASONING AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

For the reasons that follow, the administrative law judge concludes the monetary record is not correct.

Iowa Code section 96.4(4) provides:

An unemployed individual shall be eligible to receive benefits with respect to any week only if the department finds that:

4. *a.* The individual has been paid wages for insured work during the individual's base period in an amount at least one and one-quarter times the wages paid to the individual during that quarter of the individual's base period in which the individual's wages were highest; provided that the individual has been paid wages for insured work totaling at least three and five-tenths percent of the statewide average annual wage for insured work, computed for the preceding calendar year if the individual's benefit year begins on or after the first full week in July and computed for the second preceding calendar year if the individual's benefit year begins on or after the individual's base period in which the individual's wages were highest, and the individual's base period in which the individual's wages were highest, and the individual has been paid wages for insured work totaling at least one-half of the amount of wages required under this paragraph in the calendar quarter of the base period in which the individual's base period other than the calendar quarter in which the individual's wages were highest. The calendar quarter wage requirements shall be rounded to the nearest multiple of ten dollars.

b. For an individual who does not have sufficient wages in the base period, as defined in section 96.1A, to otherwise qualify for benefits pursuant to this subsection, the individual's base period shall be the last four completed calendar quarters immediately preceding the first day of the individual's benefit year if such period qualifies the individual for benefits under this subsection.

(1) Wages that fall within the alternative base period established under this paragraph *"b"* are not available for qualifying benefits in any subsequent benefit year.

(2) Employers shall be charged in the manner provided in this chapter for benefits paid based upon quarters used in the alternative base period.

c. If the individual has drawn benefits in any benefit year, the individual must during or subsequent to that year, work in and be paid wages for insured work totaling at least eight times the individual's weekly benefit amount, as a condition to receive benefits in the next benefit year.

Iowa Code section 96.1A (3) provides:

3. *"Base period"* means the period beginning with the first day of the five completed calendar quarters immediately preceding the first day of an individual's benefit year and ending with the last day of the next to the last completed calendar quarter immediately preceding the date on which the individual filed a valid claim.

lowa Code section 96.3(4) provides:

4. Determination of benefits.

a. With respect to benefit years beginning on or after July 1, 1983, an eligible individual's weekly benefit amount for a week of total unemployment shall be an amount equal to the following fractions of the individual's total wages in insured work paid during that quarter of the individual's base period in which such total wages were highest. The director shall determine annually a maximum weekly benefit amount equal to the following percentages, to vary with the number of dependents, of the statewide average weekly wage paid to employees in insured work which shall be effective the first day of the first full week in July:

If the number of dependents is:	The weekly benefit amount shall equal the following fraction of high quarter wages:	Subject to the following maximum percentage of the statewide average weekly wage.
0	1/23	53%
1	1/22	55%
2	1/21	57%
3	1/20	60%
4 or more	1/19	65%

b. The maximum weekly benefit amount, if not a multiple of one dollar, shall be rounded to the lower multiple of one dollar. However, until such time as sixty-five percent of the statewide average weekly wage exceeds one hundred ninety dollars, the maximum weekly benefit amounts shall be determined using the statewide average weekly wage computed on the basis of wages reported for calendar year 1981. As used in this section, *"dependent"* means dependent as defined in section 422.12, subsection 1, paragraph *"a"*, as if the individual claimant was a taxpayer, except that an individual claimant's nonworking spouse shall be deemed to be a dependent under this section. *"Nonworking spouse"* means a spouse who does not earn more than one hundred twenty dollars in gross wages in one week.

Since the wages in the first, second, third, and fourth quarters of 2024 were not reported as of the time of the claim, the February 5, 2025 monetary record is not correct. These wages must be reported and a new monetary record must be issued.

DECISION:

The February 5, 2025, reference 01, monetary determination is Modified in Favor of the Appellant. The wages as presented in WAGE-A shall be added to the base period wages reported in the monetary record and the claim shall be redetermined accordingly.

Smith arty

Carly Smith Administrative Law Judge

March 5, 2025 Decision Dated and Mailed

cs/scn

APPEAL RIGHTS. If you disagree with the decision, you or any interested party may:

1. Appeal to the Employment Appeal Board within fifteen (15) days of the date under the judge's signature by submitting a written appeal via mail, fax, or online to:

Employment Appeal Board 6200 Park Ave Suite 100 Des Moines, Iowa 50321 Fax: (515)281-7191 Online: eab.iowa.gov

The appeal period will be extended to the next business day if the last day to appeal falls on a weekend or a legal holiday.

AN APPEAL TO THE BOARD SHALL STATE CLEARLY:

1) The name, address, and social security number of the claimant.

- 2) A reference to the decision from which the appeal is taken.
- 3) That an appeal from such decision is being made and such appeal is signed.

4) The grounds upon which such appeal is based.

An Employment Appeal Board decision is final agency action. If a party disagrees with the Employment Appeal Board decision, they may then file a petition for judicial review in district court.

2. If no one files an appeal of the judge's decision with the Employment Appeal Board within fifteen (15) days, the decision becomes final agency action, and you have the option to file a petition for judicial review in District Court within thirty (30) days after the decision becomes final. Additional information on how to file a petition can be found at Iowa Code §17A.19, which is online at https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/17A.19.pdf or by contacting the District Court Clerk of Court https://www.iowacourts.gov/iowa-courts/court-directory/.

Note to Parties: YOU MAY REPRESENT yourself in the appeal or obtain a lawyer or other interested party to do so provided there is no expense to Workforce Development. If you wish to be represented by a lawyer, you may obtain the services of either a private attorney or one whose services are paid for with public funds.

Note to Claimant: It is important that you file your weekly claim as directed, while this appeal is pending, to protect your continuing right to benefits.

SERVICE INFORMATION:

A true and correct copy of this decision was mailed to each of the parties listed.

DERECHOS DE APELACIÓN. Si no está de acuerdo con la decisión, usted o cualquier parte interesada puede:

1. Apelar a la Junta de Apelaciones de Empleo dentro de los quince (15) días de la fecha bajo la firma del juez presentando una apelación por escrito por correo, fax o en línea a:

Employment Appeal Board 6200 Park Ave Suite 100 Des Moines, Iowa 50321 Fax: (515)281-7191 En línea: eab.iowa.gov

El período de apelación se extenderá hasta el siguiente día hábil si el último día para apelar cae en fin de semana o día feriado legal.

UNA APELACIÓN A LA JUNTA DEBE ESTABLECER CLARAMENTE:

1) El nombre, dirección y número de seguro social del reclamante.

- 2) Una referencia a la decisión de la que se toma la apelación.
- 3) Que se interponga recurso de apelación contra tal decisión y se firme dicho recurso.
- 4) Los fundamentos en que se funda dicho recurso.

Una decisión de la Junta de Apelaciones de Empleo es una acción final de la agencia. Si una de las partes no está de acuerdo con la decisión de la Junta de Apelación de Empleo, puede presentar una petición de revisión judicial en el tribunal de distrito.

2. Si nadie presenta una apelación de la decisión del juez ante la Junta de Apelaciones Laborales dentro de los quince (15) días, la decisión se convierte en acción final de la agencia y usted tiene la opción de presentar una petición de revisión judicial en el Tribunal de Distrito dentro de los treinta (30) días después de que la decisión adquiera firmeza. Puede encontrar información adicional sobre cómo presentar una petición en el Código de Iowa §17A.19, que se encuentra en línea en <u>https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/17A.19.pdf</u> o comunicándose con el Tribunal de Distrito Secretario del tribunal <u>https:///www.iowacourts.gov/iowa-courts/court-directory/</u>.

Nota para las partes: USTED PUEDE REPRESENTARSE en la apelación u obtener un abogado u otra parte interesada para que lo haga, siempre que no haya gastos para Workforce Development. Si desea ser representado por un abogado, puede obtener los servicios de un abogado privado o uno cuyos servicios se paguen con fondos públicos.

Nota para el reclamante: es importante que presente su reclamo semanal según las instrucciones, mientras esta apelación está pendiente, para proteger su derecho continuo a los beneficios.

SERVICIO DE INFORMACIÓN:

Se envió por correo una copia fiel y correcta de esta decisión a cada una de las partes enumeradas.