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STATEMENT OF THE CASE: 
 
Darren Cox, claimant/appellant, filed an appeal from the July 31, 2022, (reference 00), monetary 
record that concluded benefits cannot be paid on the claim, due to insufficient wages reported 
from 04/01/21 and ending 03/31/22, and claimant may file again after 10/02/22.  Notices of hearing 
were mailed to the parties’ last known addresses of record for a telephone hearing scheduled for 
September 13, 2022, at 1:00PM.  The department did not participate.  Claimant personally 
participated.  Judicial notice was taken of the administrative record. 
 
ISSUES:   
 
Is claimant’s monetary determination correct? 
Is claimant monetarily eligible to receive benefits? 
 
FINDINGS OF FACT: 
 

Having reviewed all of the evidence in the record, the administrative law judge finds: 
 
The monetary record appealed from shows wages in his base period as follows: 

QUARTER 2ND QRT 2021 3RD QRT 2021 4TH QRT 2021 1ST QRT 2022 

WAGES $692.80 $2336.85 $0.00 $0.00 

 
Claimant agrees that the wages reported are correct and that he has not earned any wages since 
the third quarter of 2021.  Dependents are reported as zero. 
 
REASONING AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 
 
For the reasons that follow, the administrative law judge concludes the monetary record is correct 
and claimant is not eligible to receive benefits.   
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Iowa Code section 96.4(4) provides:   
 

An unemployed individual shall be eligible to receive benefits with respect to any 
week only if the department finds that:   
 
4.  The individual has been paid wages for insured work during the individual's 
base period in an amount at least one and one-quarter times the wages paid to the 
individual during that quarter of the individual's base period in which the individual's 
wages were highest; provided that the individual has been paid wages for insured 
work totaling at least three and five-tenths percent of the statewide average annual 
wage for insured work, computed for the preceding calendar year if the individual's 
benefit year begins on or after the first full week in July and computed for the 
second preceding calendar year if the individual's benefit year begins before the 
first full week in July, in that calendar quarter in the individual's base period in which 
the individual's wages were highest, and the individual has been paid wages for 
insured work totaling at least one-half of the amount of wages required under this 
subsection in the calendar quarter of the base period in which the individual's 
wages were highest, in a calendar quarter in the individual's base period other than 
the calendar quarter in which the individual's wages were highest.  The calendar 
quarter wage requirements shall be rounded to the nearest multiple of ten dollars.  
 
If the individual has drawn benefits in any benefit year, the individual must during 
or subsequent to that year, work in and be paid wages for insured work totaling at 
least two hundred fifty dollars, as a condition to receive benefits in the next benefit 
year.  

 
Iowa Admin. Code r. 871-24.1(11) provides: 

Base period.  The period of time in which the amount of wages paid to an individual 
in insured work which determines an individual’s eligibility for, and the amount and 
duration of, benefits. The base period consists of the first four of the last five 
completed calendar quarters immediately preceding the calendar quarter in which 
the individual’s claim for benefits is effective with the following exception. The 
department shall exclude three or more calendar quarters from the individual’s 
base period in which the individual received workers’ compensation or indemnity 
insurance benefits and substitute consecutive calendar quarters immediately 
preceding the base period in which the individual did not receive workers’ 
compensation or indemnity insurance benefits. This exception applies under the 
following conditions:  
 
a.  The individual did not work in and receive wages from insured work for three 
calendar quarters of the base period, or 
 
b.  The individual did not work in and receive wages from insured work for two 
calendar quarters and lacked qualifying wages from insured work to establish a 
valid claim for benefits during another quarter of the base period. 
 

Iowa Code section 96.3(4) provides:   
 

4.  Determination of benefits.  With respect to benefit years beginning on or after 
July 1, 1983, an eligible individual's weekly benefit amount for a week of total 
unemployment shall be an amount equal to the following fractions of the 
individual's total wages in insured work paid during that quarter of the individual's 
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base period in which such total wages were highest.  The director shall determine 
annually a maximum weekly benefit amount equal to the following percentages, to 
vary with the number of dependents, of the statewide average weekly wage paid 
to employees in insured work which shall be effective the first day of the first full 
week in July: 

 
If the number of  The weekly benefit  Subject to the 
dependents is:   amount shall equal  following maximum 
    the following fraction  percentage of the 
    of high quarter wages: statewide average 
        weekly wage.   
 
 0    1/23    53% 
 1    1/22    55% 
 2    1/21    57% 
 3    1/20    60% 
 4 or more    1/19    65% 
 
The maximum weekly benefit amount, if not a multiple of one dollar shall be 
rounded to the lower multiple of one dollar.  However, until such time as sixty-five 
percent of the statewide average weekly wage exceeds one hundred ninety 
dollars, the maximum weekly benefit amounts shall be determined using the 
statewide average weekly wage computed on the basis of wages reported for 
calendar year 1981. As used in this section, "dependent" means dependent as 
defined in section 422.12, subsection 1, paragraph "a", as if the individual claimant 
was a taxpayer, except that an individual claimant's nonworking spouse shall be 
deemed to be a dependent under this section.  "Nonworking spouse" means a 
spouse who does not earn more than one hundred twenty dollars in gross wages 
in one week. 

 
The monetary record appealed from shows wages in the base period as follows: 

QUARTER 2ND QRT 2021 3RD QRT 2021 4TH QRT 2021 1ST QRT 2022 

WAGES $692.80 $2336.85 $0.00 $0.00 

 
Claimant agrees with the wages reported in his base period and that no wages have been earned 
in 2022.  To be eligible for benefits, claimant must pass a three-part eligibility test.  First, they 
must have wages in at least two quarters of his base period. Claimant has wages reported in the 
2nd and 3rd quarters of 2021.  Second, claimant must have one quarter with at least $1890 and 
one quarter with at least $950.  Claimant’s 3rd quarter of 2021 meets the $1890 threshold.  The 
only other quarter with wages is the 2nd quarter of 2021 and it does not have at least $950.  
Claimant is not eligible for benefits as they do not pass the second part of the test.  Finally, the 
total base period earnings must be at least 1.25 times the wages earned in the highest quarter.  
When the wages per quarter are added up, they do exceed the amount of the 3rd quarter of 2021 
multiplied by 1.25 and therefore claimant passes the third part of the test. 
 
By not passing all three parts of the test, claimant is not eligible for benefits as there are insufficient 
wages reported for the period in question.  Claimant is not eligible to receive benefits and the 
monetary determination is correct. 
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DECISION: 
 
The July 31, 2022, (reference 00), monetary record that concluded benefits cannot be paid on the 
claim due to insufficient wages reported is AFFIRMED. 
 
 
 
 
__________________________________ 
Darrin T. Hamilton 
Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
__October 7, 2022______ 
Decision Dated and Mailed 
 
 
dh/sa 
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APPEAL RIGHTS.  If you disagree with the decision, you or any interested party may: 
 
1. Appeal to the Employment Appeal Board within fifteen (15) days of the date under the judge’s 
signature by submitting a written appeal via mail, fax, or online to: 

 
Employment Appeal Board 
4th Floor – Lucas Building 
Des Moines, Iowa  50319 

Fax: (515)281-7191 
Online: eab.iowa.gov 

 
The appeal period will be extended to the next business day if the last day to appeal falls on a 
weekend or a legal holiday. 
 
AN APPEAL TO THE BOARD SHALL STATE CLEARLY: 
1) The name, address, and social security number of the claimant. 
2) A reference to the decision from which the appeal is taken. 
3) That an appeal from such decision is being made and such appeal is signed. 
4) The grounds upon which such appeal is based. 
 
An Employment Appeal Board decision is final agency action. If a party disagrees with the 
Employment Appeal Board decision, they may then file a petition for judicial review in district 
court.   
 
2. If no one files an appeal of the judge’s decision with the Employment Appeal Board within 
fifteen (15) days, the decision becomes final agency action, and you have the option to file a 
petition for judicial review in District Court within thirty (30) days after the decision becomes final. 
Additional information on how to file a petition can be found at Iowa Code §17A.19, which is online 
at https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/17A.19.pdf or by contacting the District Court Clerk of 
Court https:///www.iowacourts.gov/iowa-courts/court-directory/. 
 
Note to Parties: YOU MAY REPRESENT yourself in the appeal or obtain a lawyer or other 
interested party to do so provided there is no expense to Workforce Development.  If you wish to 
be represented by a lawyer, you may obtain the services of either a private attorney or one whose 
services are paid for with public funds. 
 
Note to Claimant: It is important that you file your weekly claim as directed, while this appeal is 
pending, to protect your continuing right to benefits. 
 
SERVICE INFORMATION: 
A true and correct copy of this decision was mailed to each of the parties listed. 
 
 
  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/17A.19.pdf
https://www.iowacourts.gov/iowa-courts/court-directory/
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DERECHOS DE APELACIÓN. Si no está de acuerdo con la decisión, usted o cualquier parte 
interesada puede: 
  
1. Apelar a la Junta de Apelaciones de Empleo dentro de los quince (15) días de la fecha bajo la 
firma del juez presentando una apelación por escrito por correo, fax o en línea a: 

 
 Employment Appeal Board 
4th Floor – Lucas Building 

Des Moines, Iowa 50319 
Fax: (515)281-7191 

En línea: eab.iowa.gov 
 

El período de apelación se extenderá hasta el siguiente día hábil si el último día para apelar cae 
en fin de semana o día feriado legal.  
  
UNA APELACIÓN A LA JUNTA DEBE ESTABLECER CLARAMENTE: 
1) El nombre, dirección y número de seguro social del reclamante. 
2) Una referencia a la decisión de la que se toma la apelación. 
3) Que se interponga recurso de apelación contra tal decisión y se firme dicho recurso. 
4) Los fundamentos en que se funda dicho recurso. 
  
Una decisión de la Junta de Apelaciones de Empleo es una acción final de la agencia. Si una de 
las partes no está de acuerdo con la decisión de la Junta de Apelación de Empleo, puede 
presentar una petición de revisión judicial en el tribunal de distrito. 
  
2. Si nadie presenta una apelación de la decisión del juez ante la Junta de Apelaciones Laborales 
dentro de los quince (15) días, la decisión se convierte en acción final de la agencia y usted tiene 
la opción de presentar una petición de revisión judicial en el Tribunal de Distrito dentro de los 
treinta (30) días después de que la decisión adquiera firmeza. Puede encontrar información 
adicional sobre cómo presentar una petición en el Código de Iowa §17A.19, que se encuentra en 
línea en https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/17A.19.pdf o comunicándose con el Tribunal de 
Distrito Secretario del tribunal https:///www.iowacourts.gov/iowa-courts/court-directory/. 
  
Nota para las partes: USTED PUEDE REPRESENTARSE en la apelación u obtener un 
abogado u otra parte interesada para que lo haga, siempre que no haya gastos para Workforce 
Development. Si desea ser representado por un abogado, puede obtener los servicios de un 
abogado privado o uno cuyos servicios se paguen con fondos públicos. 
  
Nota para el reclamante: es importante que presente su reclamo semanal según las 
instrucciones, mientras esta apelación está pendiente, para proteger su derecho continuo a los 
beneficios. 
  
SERVICIO DE INFORMACIÓN: 
Se envió por correo una copia fiel y correcta de esta decisión a cada una de las partes 
enumeradas. 
 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/17A.19.pdf
https://www.iowacourts.gov/iowa-courts/court-directory/

