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STATEMENT OF THE CASE:        
 
Kelly Rooks, the claimant/appellant, appealed the October 6, 2020 monetary determination that 
reduced his maximum benefit amount and backdated his benefit year start date.  A telephone 
hearing was scheduled and held on December 9, 2020, pursuant to due notice.  The claimant 
participated.  Claimant’s Exhibit A was admitted into evidence.  The administrative law judge 
took official notice of the administrative record.   
 
ISSUE: 
 
Did the claimant file a timely appeal of the October 6, 2020 monetary redetermination? 
Is the October 6, 2020 monetary redetermination correct? 
 
FINDINGS OF FACT: 
 
Having reviewed all of the evidence in the record, the administrative law judge finds:  the Iowa 
Workforce Development Department’s (Department) May 22, 2020 monetary determination 
found that the claimant’s maximum benefit amount was $4,174.66 and his benefit year began 
on May 3, 2020.  The Department received updated information about out-of-state wages the 
claimant received.  The Department corrected the claimant’s monetary record in its October 6, 
2020 redetermination.  The October 6, 2020 redetermination found that the claimant’s maximum 
benefit amount was $3,557.25 and his benefit year began on March 1, 2020.  The claimant’s 
base period consists of the fourth quarter of 2018 and the first, second and third quarters of 
2019.  During the fourth quarter of 2018, and the first, second and third quarters of 2019, the 
claimant’s quarterly wages were $0, $6,246.01, $4,135.83 and $289.92.  
 
The claimant correctly listed zero dependents when he established his claim for benefits.  On 
October 6, 2020, the Department mailed a monetary record to the claimant.  The monetary 
record reflected the zero dependents and accurately reflected the base period wages, including 
his updated out-of-state wages.  The monetary record included a statement that the monetary 
record would become final unless an appeal was filed by October 16, 2020.  The claimant filed 
his appeal on October 15, 2020.  The claimant provided the Department with his 2018 W-2. 
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REASONING AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 
 
For the reasons that follow, the administrative law judge concludes that claimant’s appeal was 
filed on time. 
 
Iowa Code § 96.6(2) provides, in pertinent part: “[u]nless the claimant or other interested party, 
after notification or within ten calendar days after notification was mailed to the claimant's last 
known address, files an appeal from the decision, the decision is final and benefits shall be paid 
or denied in accordance with the decision.” 
 
Iowa Admin. Code r. 871-24.35(1) provides: 

 
1. Except as otherwise provided by statute or by division rule, any payment, appeal, 
application, request, notice, objection, petition, report or other information or document 
submitted to the division shall be considered received by and filed with the division:  
 
  (a)  If transmitted via the United States Postal Service on the date it is mailed as shown 
by the postmark, or in the absence of a postmark the postage meter mark of the 
envelope in which it is received; or if not postmarked or postage meter marked or if the 
mark is illegible, on the date entered on the document as the date of completion.  
 
  (b)  If transmitted via the State Identification Date Exchange System (SIDES), 
maintained by the United States Department of Labor, on the date it was submitted to 
SIDES. 
 
  (c)  If transmitted by any means other than [United States Postal Service or the State 
Identification Data Exchange System (SIDES)], on the date it is received by the division. 

 
Iowa Admin. Code r. 871-24.35(2) provides: 
 

2.  The submission of any payment, appeal, application, request, notice, objection, 
petition, report or other information or document not within the specified statutory or 
regulatory period shall be considered timely if it is established to the satisfaction of the 
division that the delay in submission was due to division error or misinformation or to 
delay or other action of the United States postal service. 

 
The Iowa Supreme Court has declared that there is a mandatory duty to file appeals from 
representatives' decisions within the time allotted by statute, and that the administrative law 
judge has no authority to change the decision of a representative if a timely appeal is not filed.  
Franklin v. IDJS, 277 N.W.2d 877, 881 (Iowa 1979).  Compliance with appeal notice provisions 
is jurisdictional unless the facts of a case show that the notice was invalid.  Beardslee v. IDJS, 
276 N.W.2d 373, 377 (Iowa 1979); see also In re Appeal of Elliott 319 N.W.2d 244, 247 (Iowa 
1982).   
 
Here, claimant’s appeal deadline was October 16, 2020.  The claimant filed his appeal on 
October 15, 2020.  The claimant’s appeal is considered filed on time. 
 
For the reasons that follow, the administrative law judge concludes the October 6, 2020 
redetermination of the claimant’s monetary record is accurate.  
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Iowa Code section 96.4(4)(a) and (b) sets forth the minimum base period earnings requirements 
a claimant must meet into order to be “monetarily eligible” for unemployment insurance benefits, 
as follows:   
 

An unemployed individual shall be eligible to receive benefits with respect to any 
week only if the department finds that:   
 
a.  The individual has been paid wages for insured work during the individual's 
base period in an amount at least one and one-quarter times the wages paid to 
the individual during that quarter of the individual's base period in which the 
individual's wages were highest; provided that the individual has been paid 
wages for insured work totaling at least three and five-tenths percent of the 
statewide average annual wage for insured work, computed for the preceding 
calendar year if the individual's benefit year begins on or after the first full week in 
July and computed for the second preceding calendar year if the individual's 
benefit year begins before the first full week in July, in that calendar quarter in the 
individual's base period in which the individual's wages were highest, and the 
individual has been paid wages for insured work totaling at least one-half of the 
amount of wages required under this paragraph in the calendar quarter of the 
base period in which the individual's wages were highest, in a calendar quarter in 
the individual's base period other than the calendar quarter in which the 
individual's wages were highest.  The calendar quarter wage requirements shall 
be rounded to the nearest multiple of ten dollars.  
 
b.  For an individual who does not have sufficient wages in the base period, as 
defined in section 96.19, to otherwise qualify for benefits pursuant to this 
subsection, the individual's base period shall be the last four completed calendar 
quarters immediately preceding the first day of the individual's benefit year if such 
period qualifies the individual for benefits under this subsection. 

 
The 2019 unemployment Insurance Claimant Handbook succinctly states the minimum earnings 
requirements as follows: 
 

To be eligible for benefits, you must have: 
• Been paid wages by covered employers in at least two quarters of the base period 

• Total base period wages of at least 1.25 times the wages earned in the highest base 
period quarter 

• Wages of at least $1,660 in one quarter and at least $830 in a different quarter (program 
year July 7, 2019 to July 4, 2020). 

 
The monetary record shall constitute a final decision unless newly discovered facts which affect 
the validity of the original determination or a written request for reconsideration is filed by the 
individual within ten days of the date of the mailing of the monetary record specifying the 
grounds of objection to the monetary record.  Iowa Admin. Code r.  871-24.9(1)(b).   
 
Iowa Code section 96.3(4) provides:   
 

4.  Determination of benefits.  With respect to benefit years beginning on or after 
July 1, 1983, an eligible individual's weekly benefit amount for a week of total 



Page 4 
Appeal No.  20A-UI-12822-DZ-T 

 
unemployment shall be an amount equal to the following fractions of the 
individual's total wages in insured work paid during that quarter of the individual's 
base period in which such total wages were highest; the director shall determine 
annually a maximum weekly benefit amount equal to the following percentages, 
to vary with the number of dependents, of the statewide average weekly wage 
paid to employees in insured work which shall be effective the first day of the first 
full week in July: 

 
If the number of  The weekly benefit  Subject to the 
dependents is:   amount shall equal  following maximum 

the following fraction  percentage of the 
of high quarter wages: statewide average 
    weekly wage.   

 
 0    1/23    53% 
 1    1/22    55% 
 2    1/21    57% 
 3    1/20    60% 
 4 or more   1/19    65% 

 
The maximum weekly benefit amount, if not a multiple of one dollar shall be 
rounded to the lower multiple of one dollar.  However, until such time as sixty-five 
percent of the statewide average weekly wage exceeds one hundred ninety 
dollars, the maximum weekly benefit amounts shall be determined using the 
statewide average weekly wage computed on the basis of wages reported for 
calendar year 1981. As used in this section "dependent" means dependent as 
defined in section 422.12, subsection 1, paragraph "a", as if the individual 
claimant was a taxpayer, except that an individual claimant's nonworking spouse 
shall be deemed to be a dependent under this section.  "Nonworking spouse" 
means a spouse who does not earn more than one hundred twenty dollars in 
gross wages in one week. 

 
The monetary record mailed to the claimant on October 6, 2020 was in all respects correct.  It 
set forth the correct number of dependents and the correct base period wages.  The claimant’s 
2018 W-2 does not establish that he earned wages specifically in quarter four of 2018. 
Claimant’s Exhibit A.  Therefore, the Department’s October 6, 2020 redetermination remains the 
basis for determining the claimant’s eligibility for benefits.  
 
The claimant may submit evidence that he earned income specifically in quarter 4 of 2018 to the 
Department’s Benefit Bureau for another redetermination. 
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DECISION: 
 
The October 6, 2020 monetary determination is affirmed.   
 
 

 
__________________________________ 
Daniel Zeno 
Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
December 18, 2020______ 
Decision Dated and Mailed 
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